FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester

FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

The BUPA Great Manchester Run 2009

This year’s BUPA Great Manchester 10K Run takes place on Sunday 17th May at 10.00 am. For the fourth year in a row FC have a team of approximately 40 runners entering the Run along with 31,000 others raising money for various good causes and achieving some personal goals along the way.

The fastest run by an FC’er was Nicky Platt last year in 41 minutes 24 seconds although Martin Andersen has set himself the goal of beating that time this year. Many others will be hoping to achieve good times whilst others are hoping to get fit enough or to recover from injuries just to make the starting line.

The Run sets off from the city centre along Chester Road, around the outside of Old Trafford football ground, down onto the quayside and back into Manchester finishing at the Castlefield end of Deansgate. More details can be found at www.greatrun.org.

Many roads will be closed and there will be large crowds lined all around the course creating a tremendous atmosphere for runners and spectators alike. The BBC will show highlights later in the afternoon on BBC2. Look out for a group of runners with red shirts and even redder faces.

The majority of our runners are raising money for Club funds and we now have our own website collection page at www.bmycharity.com/fcunited where you can make donations direct to FC or access individual runners’ own sponsorship pages. There is a list below of runners who are already registered on the site with more to follow soon. Please make a donation, some runners will be going through hell for the FC cause!

Andy Walsh
David Hibbert
Helen Walker
Lucy Pendlebury
Martin Andersen
Mike Sherrard
Neil Nelson
Rick Simpson
Scott Fletcher
Steve Chadwick
Andy Barker (Club photographer)
Aimee Carter-Roebuck
Peter Cranmer
Andy Griffiths (Twelfth Man)
Catherine and Tony Holland
Adrian Roebuck
Richard Aubery
Andy Brennan
Chris Davenport
Paul Farrell (Faz)
Philip Marshall
Mike Bagnall
Chris Cheetham
Kathryn Hall
Nicky Platt
Darryl Latham

Home Email Facebook Reddit

First Posted ~ 11:15 Mon 11 May 2009
News ID ~ 2181
Last Updated ~ 17:14 Fri 11 Oct 2013