FC United of Manchester Vanarama Logo FC United of Manchester Vanarama Logo FC United of Manchester Vanarama Logo

FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

FA Confirm Step 4 Expansion

The FA have just issued the following press release:



The Football Association today confirmed that the planned expansion of Step 4 of the National League System to incorporate an additional division of the Northern Premier League will proceed in time for the 2007/2008 season.

The revised structure will see the Northern Premier League operating with two first divisions each comprising, initially of 18 clubs. The additional division will require a further 12 clubs to move up from current Step 5 leagues, with the North West Counties, Northern Counties East and Midland Football Alliance each providing a minimum of three clubs. The Northern League will also provide two clubs with both Durham City and Newcastle Blue Star FC’s both committed to moving up the National League structure.

Although the Northern Premier League had been pressing for two divisions of 20 clubs they are happy to accept the 18 club decision as a means of putting the new structure in place.

Leagues Manager, Mike Appleby, commented that he was happy with the outcome of the meeting. "The decision means that the restructure at Steps 1 to 4 will now be complete and in place for next season. The decision to go with 18 clubs means that there should be limited, if any, impact on the Southern League who remain against any mass movement of clubs from their current Step 4 Midland Division. Now that this phase of the restructure has been agreed, we can now look forward and begin a review of the Step 5, 6 and 7 competitions"

Home Email Facebook Reddit

First Posted ~ 17:57 Tue 3 Apr 2007
News ID ~ 917
Last Updated ~ 13:41 Mon 21 May 2018