FC United of Manchester Vanarama Logo FC United of Manchester Vanarama Logo FC United of Manchester Vanarama Logo

FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

Padiham await United in First Round Proper

FC United will face Padiham away in the First Round Proper of the FA Vase after easing to a 3-1 victory against Brodsworth Miners Welfare in Doncaster on Saturday in front of 1,251 supporters.

Stuart Rudd was rewarded for his tireless hard work by breaking the deadlock in the South Yorkshire sunshine five minutes before half time with a close range finish in front of the Red End.

United controlled the game throughout, endeavouring to play their trademark slick attacking football despite a difficult playing surface, with Liam Coyne deputising well for the injured David Chadwick at the back.

But it wasn’t until late on in the second half that they put the tie beyond any doubt. With 25 minutes to go, Josh Howard picked the ball up on the left wing before cutting inside and unleashing a curling strike from distance to leave Broddy’s ‘keeper Tim Whitehouse with no chance, making it 2-0.

Not to be out done, the ever lively Rory Patterson got in on the action eight minutes later and added his name to the score sheet with another strike from distance.

All credit to Brodsworth though, they never gave up and their determination was rewarded when Craig Longley managed to score a consolation goal with just minutes of the game remaining.

The Reds will play Padiham, who overcame North West Counties Division Two rivals Cheadle Town 1-0 in front of 94 fans yesterday, on 7th October with the venue to subject to confirmation.

Match information:

Brodsworth Miners Welfare

1. Tim Whitehouse (C)
2. David Woodcock
3. Brady Roberts
4. Ryan Carmody
5. Dean Morling
6. Mike Carmody
7. Daniel Whaley
8. Sean Perkins
9. Brett Lovell
10. Craig Longley
11. Nicky Darker
12. Joe Hodgson (for 7, 75)
14. Mike Wibberley
15. Nathan Hill (for 5, 67)
16. Craig Morton (for 2, 75)
17. Kyle Bates

FC United of Manchester

1 Sam Ashton
2 Mathew Taylor
3 Alex Mortimer
4 Steven Spencer
5 Liam Coyne
6 Robert Nugent
7 Rhodri Giggs
8 William Ahern
9 Stuart Rudd
10 Joshua Howard
11 Rory Patterson (C)
12 Mike Lomax
14 Steven Smith (for 7, 67 mins)
15 Leon Mike
16 Lee Ellis (for 8, 75 mins)
17 Darren Lyons (for 4, 81 mins)

Home Email Facebook Reddit

First Posted ~ 12:18 Sun 24 Sep 2006
News ID ~ 539
Last Updated ~ 17:51 Fri 11 Oct 2013