FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester

FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

Youths defeated in opening game

The FC United youth team opened its North West Youth Alliance league season against a Salford City side widely tipped, by their coach, for the title with a narrow but creditable 1-0 defeat.

Salford started much the brighter of the two sides with the slightly too long grass disrupting the FC pass and move style. Early chances were spurned by both sides with the best FC chance coming when new recruit and captain, Jamie Mack attempted to spin and shoot at the same time, but straight at the Salford Keeper.

The goal came after 25 minutes when a cross was turned goalward by the Salford number 7, Jem Selcuk. The last touch was from an attempted clearance by FC right back Alex Sutcliffe but the ball did appear to be going in anyway. Both sides subsequently hit a number of wayward shots before the first half ended.

Appearing after the break, having been doubtless given words of encouragement which your correspondent wouldn’t want to repeat, FC were much brighter in the second half. Jamie Lyons had the best of the chances, breaking down the right wing early in the half before turning inside and shooting across goal with no-one able to follow up. The best chance came midway through the half when Jamie broke clear from the half way line with the defenders appealing in vain for an offside decision. Unfortunately a heavy touch meant the Salford Keeper was virtually on top of him by the time he could shoot and managed to make a save.

FC had much the better of the possession for the rest of the game but were unable to create any more clear chances.

Salford City

1. Charlie Dorsey
2. Steve Bancroft
3. Tom Wood
16. Steven Richardson
5. Matthew Grimshaw
6. Jordan Lee
7. Jem Selcuk
12. Alex Kemp
9. Chris Hodgin
10. Jack Burke
15. Kiefer Greig
11. Lee Bancroft
17. Michael Greene

FC United

1. Robert Froggatt
2. Alex Sutcliffe
3. John Buckley
4. Shaun Williams
5. Nick Swirad
6. Shaun Connor
7. Mark Reeves
8. Matthew Wilkinson
9. Jack Lyons
10. Jamie Mack
11. Sam Freakes
12. Stephen Carson
14. Tim Marshall (for 4)
15. Matthew Kirkwood (for 2)
16. Marcel McKie
17. Andre Holder (for 3)

Home Email Facebook Reddit

First Posted ~ 15:13 Tue 2 Sep 2008
News ID ~ 1797
Last Updated ~ 17:14 Fri 11 Oct 2013