FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester

FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

United are going to Fleetwood

FC United booked their place in the First Qualifying Round of the FA Cup and a trip to the Fylde Coast to take on Fleetwood on Saturday 15 September after demolishing Trafford 5-2 at Altrincham’s Moss Lane stadium in front of 2,238 supporters.

The Reds were quick out of the blocks and appeared to be champing at the bit to get their FA Cup debut underway. Rob Nugent headed the first from a corner after only 11 minutes and Josh Howard doubled the lead just six minutes later, side footing home from close range after a precise move from Shaun Roscoe and Jerome Wright.

Wright could have made it 3-0 seconds later as United looked like they were going to run riot, but keeper Martin Campbell made an impressive point blank save. And if anyone in the United team or the sizeable crowd was getting carried away about a trip to the seaside in the next round of the competition, Trafford soon brought them back down to earth with a bump - scoring two goals in five minutes to level the match.

A Chris Mackay strike left Sam Ashton floundering at his near post and a delicate chip from Andy Lundy was bordering on being unstoppable as Trafford made it clear to their former North West Counties Division One rivals that they wouldn’t have everything their own way.

The home side dug their heels in and enjoyed their best spell of the match giving a shell shocked United cause for concern. However, the Reds regrouped and got back to doing what they do best - playing fast, attacking football down the wings.

Nicky Platt coolly converted a penalty on the stroke of half time and the result was put beyond doubt in the second half when Simon Carden got on the score sheet after 69 minutes and hard working substitute Anthony Hargreaves got his well earned second for the club in injury time to complete the rout.

More to follow.

Trafford FC
1. M Campbell
2. S Woodford (capt) (cautioned 87)
3. S Smith
4. L Southwood (cautioned 43)
5. A Jones
6. M Kisseh
7. C Mackay
8. H Winter
9. A Lundy
10. D Depeiaza
11. S Metcalfe
12. T Hayder (for 10 70)
14. T Hayes (for 7 79) (cautioned 89)
15. A Maclean
16. J Shakeshaft
17. (GK) T Read

Scorers: Mackay 22, Lundy 27

FC United
1. S Ashton
2. M Taylor (cautioned 32)
3. S Roscoe
4. S Spencer (cautioned 58)
5. D Chadwick (Captain) (cautioned 24)
6. R Nugent
7. J Howard
8. S Carden
9. S Rudd
10. J Wright
11. N Platt
12. A Hargreaves (for 4 83)
14. C Baguley (for 11 83)
15. A Mortimer
16. D Swarbrick
17. L Foster

Scorers: Nugent 11, Howard 17, Platt 44 pen, Carden 69, Hargreaves 90(+1)

Home Email Facebook Reddit

First Posted ~ 10:45 Mon 3 Sep 2007
News ID ~ 1147
Last Updated ~ 12:20 Mon 21 May 2018